Saturday, December 11, 2010

Newton Wins Heisman

Newton in 2010 for the Auburn Tigers

Breaking News: Cam Newton, Quarterback for the Auburn Tigers has won the 2010 Heisman Award!

In 2nd was Andrew Luck, Quarterback for Stanford, followed by LaMichael James, Running Back for Oregon, and in 4th, Kellen Moore, Quarterback for Boise State.

Heisman wins the award in the end despite a mid season allegation against him. It was said that colleges were paying Newton to go and play for their college. His dad was trying to make a "pay to play" deal with Mississippi State, but in the end it never worked. Cam did not know about this and that is why it was eventually dropped.
Newton in 2007 throwing the ball as a backup on the sidelines

A few years ago, who would have guessed that Cam Newton would have won the Heisman. At the time,  he was backing up Florida's Quarterback and Heisman Winner Tim Tebow. After transferring to a small college called Blinn College, he was recruited heavily by many colleges; this is where the "play to play" came up. In the end Newton settled with Auburn and led them this season to an undefeated season.

Newton will be playing the Oregon Ducks in the BCS National Championship Game. Like Auburn Oregon who is #2 in the country was also undefeated.

To be quite honest, although at first i did not want Cam Newton to win the Heisman, i realized how ridiculous i was being because his stats were just incredible. Cam plays a dual threat Quarterback position where he can pass but if its not open, run for many yards.

On the season he passed for 2,538 yards and threw 28 touchdowns. He also ran for 1,409 yards and ran in 20 touchdowns. Newton even caught a touchdown pass to total up to 49 touchdowns this season.

He was voted SEC player of the year and on thursday night, he won many other prestigious awards such as the Maxwell Award which goes to the nation's most outstanding player, the Walter Camp Award which goes to the nation's most valuable player, the Davey O'Brien Award for the nation's top Quarterback, and ofcourse the Heisman award.

Newton becomes the 3rd player from Auburn to win the Heisman Trophy. The most recent winner was Bo Jackson who in the 1980's was one of the most dominant rushers. Newton won the Heisman by the most points this decade besides Troy Smith in 2006 for Ohio State.

Good luck to Newton and Auburn as they get set to play Oregon on January 10th in Pasadena for the BCS Championship Game.

No comments:

Post a Comment